Europe (Study Abroad January 2019) AIFS Germany

Europe (Study Abroad January 2019) AIFS Germany

The day before my last expedition with the American Institute for Foreign Studies in Germany, my father took me to a holocaust museum next to Battery Park City. The exhibits go in chronological order of World War II. There were short documentaries of aircrafts dropping bombs, Nazi’s invading homes, and European Jews wearing the Star of David on their prison uniforms. The intention of my last AIFS educational journey was to be conscious while processing the genocide. Fulfilling my academic success at Humboldt University, I examined the rise and fall of Nazi Germany steering to the establishment of anti-semitism. Relieving the sadness, I went to museums and palaces full of colorful expressions.

Berlin

The capital of Germany provides a visual analysis from the Holocaust to the start of the Cold War. The sides of long distanced paths are full of statued war vehicles with canons, weapons placed in glassed windows. They resemble the massive attacks.

Bradenburg Gate
Reichstag Dome

Bradenburg Gate is Berlin’s landmark honoring the Batavian Revolution more than two centuries ago. Walking under the gate was like the beginning of another war. To my perspective, it is a signal to get into battle. The Reichstag Building is an office of the German Empire. The dome was constructed following a dramatic incident in the early 1930s. The nighttime view is spectacular when the city lights are on. It is almost like being in a city that never sleeps.

German History

Against Anti-Semitism

The German History Museum was the first class field trip. It is one of the museums divided into two sections. Some of the exhibitions were heartbreaking, but I disciplined my mind. Encountering the anti-semitism logo was one. Some portions included Nazi uniforms, and the descriptions of Hitler’s plans during the Munich Putsch. I read how Hitler’s plans played a role in his background before he launched the invasion in 1939.

The topography of terrors surrounds the brick walls of the Kristallnacht. This is the spot where I got a better glimpse of the destruction. On the left picture, I listened to the communication between Hitler and the Nazi Soldiers. I could also switch the channel to other hearings such as the moaning of the Jews being murdered, and canon fires from the army combats. The image on the right are small notes that are designed in pieces of cloth. The writings entail the markings of the Nazi Regime.

Art Museums

The Neues Museum is an art museum close to the center of Berlin. Mainly, the artifacts depict Egyptian culture, which I am a big fan of. The jars from Egypt make me attracted to the shape of bowling pins. Some of the drawings on the pottery show the Israelites migrating to Egypt centuries ago. Other portions have slanted walls that are a similar shape to some of the tombs and pyramids.

The pergamonmuseum is the imagery of animals and their body parts on humans to share their unique artistic styles. Lion imagery can be found in all of the historical time periods. In some entrances, there are lions staring across each other at some gallery entrances. I have also looked at statues of horses and a ceiling glowing the Northern lights.

Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Concentration Camp

On the first weekend, I visited Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp in the suburbs of Berlin. It was one of the class field trips as well. More than 100,00 European Jews were prisoned in the camp during the war. They are buried under the grey pebbles. The electric fences prevented them from escaping. The undergrounds contain pieces of metal from the destroyed homes and synagogues. Walking in the rectangular cabins of the concentration camp, I discovered what they did to maintain their living before they were killed. The exhibits began with portraying the names of the victims in chronological order leading up to their own activities. Playing chess was one of them. It was done by creating the pieces out of stone in different carvings.

Feeling emotional about the violence told me to look inward by asking myself, How has the prejudice impacted my Jewish background? I thinked thoughtfully before expressing myself silently. I carried the values from my ancestors and how their religious practices play a role in my contributions to the Jewish Community. It resonated on me when I stood in front of the memorial and chanted Mourners Kadish.

Potsdam, Germany

Potsdam was one of the longest day trips. There was a lot to see next to the border of Berlin. Potsdam is considered to be the place where, “We must keep Peace and order and we shall not make any trouble.” The tour started with diving into a negotiated agreement in the middle of 1945.

Entrance to the Palace

I rode double decker bus crossing Gleinicke Bridge also known as the location where Bridge of Spies (Tom Hanks) was filmed. With a fair amount of relaxation, I visited the Cecilionhof Palace. It is the old house where the King of Prussia was controlled until the start of World War I.

The last portion of the day trip was the main palace where hundreds of people lived until it turned into a captivating gallery. Unfortunately, I was not permitted to take photographs inside the building. The big rooms are attractive with their own set ups of meal tables, bedrooms, living rooms, and paintings. The large garden behind the palace has more than three stair cases to the central well.

Apple Strudel

Making apple strudel was the cooking activity. With the palms of my hand being so strong, I was not gentle enough with the dough. I had to toss the dough across my hands firmly. Apple Strudel is a delish European dessert that is as tasteful as apple pie. Having extra dough, I was able to make it into letters displaying “Bowling” one of my favorite sports.

Poland Excursion

The provided excursion to Poland kicked off with an early morning six hour train ride. After getting a little comfortable in the hotel, I explored the Muzuem Powstania Warszawskiego, which I think has one of the best designed exhibitions in the European Union. Similar to other Holocaust Museums, I crawled in a tunnel that looks like a dry sewer. The peak of the museum is technology used in the old days. “Ahoy, this is your favorite world traveler, leave a message.”

Poland Flag

The next day was mostly outdoors. The main park of Warsaw is the Palac Na Wyspie – Lazienki Krolewskie. The lake was frozen surrounding the center of the park. Sadly, I did not have time to go inside the galleries of the palace, but I walked next to them. During the summer, there are a lot of music concerts, mostly Classic, and European.

The last stop before the six hour train ride to Berlin was the Muzeum Historii Zydown Polskich POLIN. The creativity below ground began with the history of Polish Jews. The museum demonstrates how Polish Jews lived during the Holocaust and other time periods. Its organizational structure was compelling. In one room, I sat on a throne without wearing a crown. I am lucky to call myself the king of traveling the globe.

Conference Room

The German Chancellory is the executive office where most diplomats discuss the past and present roles regarding the Federal Republic of Germany. Outside of the conference rooms, there are paintings of former Chancellors and leaders of the agency.

Charlottenburg is an artistic, and highly decorated palace. It is more than three centuries old and one of the largest palaces in Germany. Almost every room had three mirrors along with two chandeliers. The caricatures represent the residents in the 1700’s. The wide garden in the back tells the history of Charlottenburg’s inception.

Hambug Bahnhof is a contemporary art museum displaying pieces of the railways. Some rooms depict lines of train tracks that used to be in old train stations, plus the television screens, and electric bulbs. Aside from being on train rides, my dream artistic display was the basketballs in a glassed box.

Mission Accomplished

With out a doubt, this experience was emotionally challenging. I learned that there is never a right or wrong way to grieve those who lost their lives in tragic events. The treasures we bring always matter more than the hardships that come. Finding a way to clear my mind through the arts was a form of stress relief.

Leave a comment